Bildungsförderung Oberguinea e.V.
  • Overview

Guinea lies in West Africa and has a surface area of 245860km2 and four tropical climatic zones.
  • There is a tropical coastal region in which primarily various species of palm thrive.
  • The mountainous region around Fouta Djallon (1500m) consists of Pine forests and banana plantations. Tomatoes, strawberries, and potatoes are also cultivated here.
  • Upper Guinea has little rainfall and lies on an elevated plain. The landscape here is mainly bush and savannah, with many mango, baobab, néré, shea, and kapok trees. The temperature ranges between 18 und 40°C.
  • In the partly untouched rain forest regions around Mount Nimba (1752m) there are also cocoa and coffee plantations, rubber trees, and pepper bushes. Here, depending on the season, the temperatures range between 18 und 40°C. Due to Guinea’s many rivers, the country is also known as Africa’s water reservoir.

Main cities: The port city of Conakry (pop. 2000000 ) is the country’s capital. . The capital of Upper Guinea is Kankan (pop. 190000 ). It lies inland, in the Malinké heartland. Kankan has hospitals and universities, but no electricity supply (only generators). The main mode of transport is motorbikes.

Mineral resources: Guinea is the world’s largest exporter of bauxite and is rich in minerals (gold, diamonds). In 1996 the world’s largest deposit of lead was discovered in Mount Simandou. For more information, see www.jeuneafrique.com

Religion: Guinea has a population of around 12.5 million. 89% are Muslim, 7% animists, 8% Christian.

Theofficial language is French. There are three main languages: Sousou (11%), Peul (35%) and Malinké (30%).

Life expectancy: Nationally, life expectancy is 58 years (2013). 77% of the population is illiterate. Read more …

Settled and nomadic peoples: The nomadic Peul people in Fouta Djallon are mostly cattle herders. The settled Malinké are mostly farmers.

Neighbouring countries: Sénégal, Mali, Ivory Coast, Guinea Bissau, Liberia und Sierra Leone.

  • Geopolitical Facts

General
Guinea (ca. 12000000 ), (approx. pop. 12 million), the so-called water reservoir of Africa, is one of the continent’s poorest countries, despite its significant mineral reserves. The Global Innovation Index, which includes 128 states, listed Guinea in 2016 in second last position. The country is predominantly rural, with only two cities – the capital, Conakry (pop. 2000000 ) and Kankan, in Upper Guinea (pop. 190000 ).
60 years of military dictatorship (1958-2009) destroyed Guinea’s economy and made it one of the world’s most corrupt states.
  • 1st military dictator: Sékou Touré (1958–1984)
  • 2nd military dictator: Lansana Conté (1984–2007)
  • There was also a further putsch by Moussa Dada Camara (2007–2009)
  • Lansana Kouyaté (2009–2010) was appointed by an international commission as the country’s interim leader pending democratic elections.
Since the first free presidential elections in 2010 and 2015, living conditions are beginning to change.

Challenges for The First Freely Elected President Dr. Alpha Condé
In 2010, Dr. Alpha Condé, social democrat and long-term leader opposition leader, returned from France to his home country and stood for election as president and obtained 52% of the votes.
It was not until 2012, after much resistance and repeated delays, that the parliament was also elected. The parliament took immediate action to invest in infrastructure improvements and especially in the building of new water wells. And with financial help from China, a damn in Kaleta is being planned that will ensure the supply of electricity for Conakry.

However, the catastrophic economic policy of the dictators has left its mark:
The telephone system is dilapidated and works only sporadically – even in the centre of the capital. There are only two main roads that cross the capital. The rest of the roads, even in the inland areas, are nothing more than dirt tracks and full of potholes. There is no local public transport – neither busses nor trams, which means that the cities have to deal with traffic chaos on a daily basis. There is no sewage system – the gutters are full of mud, rubbish, and plastic bags, leading repeatedly to outbreaks of disease. Rubbish collection services have been privatized, and although relatively inexpensive, is still unaffordable for most families as they struggle to find enough money for food. Thus, the city has turned into an immense mountain of rubbish consisting predominantly of plastic bags.

The Second Period of Office for Dr. Alpha Condé
Alpha Condé was re-elected in 2015 with 57% of the votes, which helped to stabilize the democratic development of the country. Shortly after his re-election, the outbreak of Ebola struck. The battle against this epidemic was extremely costly, significantly weakening economic growth and infrastructure improvements. Although Guinea has the world’s largest reserves of bauxite and iron, as well as large deposits of gold and diamonds, the country remains one of Africa’s poorest countries.

Read more on Wikipedia

Alpha Condé, President since 2010

Barrage Kaleta (2012–15), Barrage Souapiti (2016–2019). Video

Mountains of rubbish in Conakry

  • Economic Facts

Guinea’s Current Economic Situation
The current exchange rate is approx. : 1 € = 10000 FG

Inflation has not risen since the presidential election in 2010. In addition, as a result of the transparent economic policies of president Alpha Condé, the IMF cancelled 66%. of the country’s debt. The country is now in a gradual process of economic stabilization.

The domestic economic situation
Guinea is gradually recovering from the Ebola epidemic (2014-2015) and the collapse in the prices for raw materials. The economy grew by 5,2% in 2016 thanks to the extraction of bauxite and gold.
However, there was continued stagnation in the service and manufacturing sectors as a result of the Ebola crisis. For 2017, a growth of GDP of 4,4% is forecast. The situation for public finances improved in 2016. The budget deficit, which in 2015 grew to 8,9% of GDP, was reduced to 1,3% in 2016. In 2017, it may also decline, possibly to around 0,2% od GDP.

Teams from the World Bank and the IMF are working closely together with the Guinean authorities to ensure that all 2016 debts are repaid without impeding the development of the country. Although the rates of school attendance and immunization are improving, 55% of the population continue to live below the poverty line, and almost a third of children are under-nourished. The UNO claims that 600000 people are suffering from uncertainty regarding the supply of food. As with many other developing countries, Guinea is struggling with the challenges of urbanization. Added to the natural population growth in the cities, people are deserting rural areas. This has led to a 20% increase in urban poverty. Guinea’s rate of urbanization is approximately 37%. Further acute challenges are youth unemployment, inadequate basic public services, including education, health services, security, and acceptable housing.

Action Against Ebola in Guinea


Plaza Diamant (luxury residential development, build by Chinese investors)

Go to top
© Bildungsförderung Oberguinea e.V. 2017

Bildungsförderung Oberguinea e.V.
  • überblick

Guinea liegt in Westafrika, hat eine Oberfläche von 245860km2 und vier tropische Klimazonen:
  • Es gibt eine tropische Küstenregion, in der vor allem verschiedene Palmenarten gedeihen.
  • Die Bergregion um Fouta Djallon (1500m) besteht aus Pinienwäldern und Bananenplantagen. Hier baut man auch Tomaten, Erdbeeren und Kartoffeln an.
  • Das niederschlagsarme Oberguinea liegt auf einem Hochplateau. Vorherrschend sind hier Buschlandschaften und die Savanne mit ihren vielen Mangobäumen, Baobab- sowie Néré-, Karité- und Kapokbäumen. Die Temperaturen liegen zwischen 18 und 40°C.
  • In den zum Teil unberührten Regenwaldgebieten um den Berg Nimba (1752m) gibt es Kakao- und Kaffeepflanzen, Kautschukbäume und Pfeffersträucher. Die Temperaturen liegen hier jenach Jahrszeit zwischen 18 und 40°C. Wegen seiner zahlreichen Flüsse wird Guinea auch als Wasserschloss Afrikas bezeichnet.

Hauptstädte: Die Hafenstadt Conakry (2000000 Einwohner) ist die Hauptstadt des Landes. Die Hauptstadt Oberguineas ist Kankan (190000 Einwohner). Sie liegt im Landesinneren, dem Reich der Malinké. Kankan besitzt Krankenhäuser und Universitäten, aber keine Stromversorgung (nur Generatoren). Das Hauptverkehrsmittel sind Motorräder.

Bodenschätze: Guinea ist weltweit der führende Bauxit-Exporteur und ein fruchtbares Land, das reich an weiteren Bodenschätzen (Gold, Diamanten) ist. 1996 wurde die größte Eisenmine der Welt in Le Mont Simandou entdeckt. Mehr unter: www.jeuneafrique.com

Religion: Guinea hat etwa 12,5 Millionen Einwohner. 89% von ihnen sind Moslems, 7% Animisten, 8% Christen.

Amtssprache ist Französisch. Es gibt drei Haupsprachen: Sousou (11%), Peul (35%) und Malinké (30%).

Lebenserwartung: Die Landbevölkerung Guineas hat eine durchschnittliche Lebenserwartung von 58 Jahren (2013). 77% der Bevölkerung können weder lesen noch schreiben. Mehr …

Sesshaftigkeit: Das Nomadenvolk der Peul in Fouta Djallon betreibt zumeist Viehzucht, die sesshaften Malinké sind in der Regel Bauern.

Nachbarländer sind: Sénégal, Mali, Elfenbeinküste, Guinea Bissau, Liberia und Sierra Leone.

  • Geopolitische Fakten

Allgemein
Guinea (ca. 12000000 Einwohner), das sogenannte Wasserschloss Afrikas, gehört trotz vieler Bodenschätze zu den ärmsten Ländern des Kontinents. Der Global Innovation Index, der 128 Staaten umfasst, notierte Guinea 2016 auf dem vorletzten Platz. Im ländlich geprägten Guinea gibt es nur zwei Großstädte: die Hauptstadt Conakry mit 2000000 Einwohnern und Kankan, Oberguinea, mit 190000 Einwohnern.
Sechzig Jahre Militärdiktatur (1958–2009) haben die Wirtschaftskraft Guineas zerstört und es weltweit zu einem der korruptesten Staaten gemacht.
  • 1. Militärdiktatur: Sékou Touré (1958–1984)
  • 2. Militärdiktatur: Lansana Conté (1984–2007)
  • ein weiterer Putschversuch von Moussa Dada Camara (2007–2009)
  • Lansana Kouyaté (2009–2010) wurde von einer internationalen Kommission ernannt, um das Land während der Übergangszeit bis zur ersten demokratischen Wahl zu führen.
Mit den ersten freien Präsidentschaftswahlen im Jahre 2010 und 2015 ändern sich die Lebensbedingungen allmählich.

Die Herausforderungen für den ersten frei gewählten Präsidenten Dr. Alpha Condé
Dr. Alpha Condé, Sozialdemokrat und langjähriger Oppositionsführer, kehrte im Jahr 2010 aus Frankreich in sein Heimatland zurück, stellte sich als Präsidentschaftskandidat zur Wahl und erhielt 52% der Stimmen.
Erst nach vielen Widerständen und mit Verzögerung wurde 2012 auch das Parlament gewählt, das sofort in die Verbesserung der Infrastruktur investierte und vor allem neue Trinkwasserbrunnen bauen ließ. Ein Staudammprojekt in Kaleta, mit finanzieller Hilfe Chinas geplant, soll die Stromversorgung Conakrys sichern.

Aber die katastrophale Wirtschaftpolitik der Diktatoren hat ihre Spuren bis heute in Conakry hinterlassen:
Das Telefonnetz ist marode und funktioniert selbst im Zentrum der Hauptstadt nur vorübergehend. Lediglich zwei große Straßenachsen durchziehen die Hauptstadt – die übrigen Verkehrswege, auch im Landesinneren, sind ungeteert und voller Schlaglöcher. Es gibt keinen öffentlichen Personennahverkehr, weder Busse noch Straßenbahnen, sodass die Stadt täglich mit großen Verkehrsstaus zu kämpfen hat. Es gibt keine Abwasserentsorgung – die Rinnsteine sind voll von Schlamm, Abfall und Plastiktüten –, ein ständiger Krankheitsherd. Die Abfallwirtschaft ist privatisiert. Obwohl relativ preiswert, ist die Abfallbeseitigung dennoch unbezahlbar, weil den meisten Familien schon das Geld für die tägliche Nahrung fehlt. Die Stadt ist mittlerweile zu einem immensen Müllberg aus Plastiktüten mutiert.

Die zweite Amtsperiode Dr. Alpha Condés
Mit 57% der Stimmen wurde Alpha Condé im Jahr 2015 wiedergewählt und die demokratische Entwicklung des Landes stabilisiert. Kurz nach der Wahl bremste der Ausbruch des Ebolafiebers, der kostenintensive Kampf gegen diese Epidemie, das Wirtschaftswachstum des Landes erheblich und blockierte die weitere Verbesserung der Infrastruktur. Obwohl es in Guinea weltweit die größten Bauxit- und Eisenminen gibt sowie zusätzlich große Diamant- und Goldvorkommen, ist dieses Land noch immer eines der ärmsten Afrikas.

Mehr bei Wikipedia

Alpha Condé, Präsident seit 2010

Barrage Kaleta (2012–15), Barrage Souapiti (2016–2019). Video

Berge von Müll in Conakry

  • Ökonomische Fakten

Die allgemeine Wirtschaftslage Guineas
Der aktuelle Kurswechsel ist ca. : 1 € = 10000 FG

Seit der Präsidentschaftswahl 2010 ist die Inflation nicht weiter vorangeschritten. Zudem gewährte der IWF dem Land im Jahr 2012 aufgrund der transparenten Wirtschaftspolitik des Präsidenten Alpha Condé einen Schuldenerlass in Höhe von 66%. Das Land ist nun dabei, sich wirtschaftlich allmählich zu stabilisieren.

Die interne Wirtschaftslage
Guinea erholt sich langsam von der Ebola-Epidemie (2014–2015) und dem Zusammenbruch der Rohstoffpreise. Die Wirtschaft erreicht ein Wachstum von 5,2% im Jahr 2016, dank der Gewinnung von Bauxit und Gold.
Die Dienstleistungs- und die Fertigungsindustrie stagnieren jedoch weiterhin als Folge der Ebola-Krise. Die Projektionen gehen von einem BIP-Wachstum von 4,4% für 2017 aus. Die Lage der öffentlichen Finanzen hat sich im Jahr 2016 verbessert: Das Haushaltsdefizit, das im Jahr 2015 auf 8,9% des BIP anwuchs, konnte im Jahr 2016 auf 1,3% reduziert werden. Es könnte auch 2017 weiterhin sinken und ca. 0,2% des BIP erreichen.

Teams von Weltbank und IWF arbeiten eng mit den guineische Behörden zusammen, um sicherzustellen, dass alle Darlehen im Jahr 2016 zurückgezahlt werden, ohne dass es einen negativen Einfluss auf die Entwicklung des Landes verursacht. Obwohl die Einschulungs- und Impfrate der Kinder sich verbessert hat, leben noch 55% der Bevölkerung unterhalb der Armutsgrenze, und fast ein Drittel der Kinder sind unterernährt. Die UNO sagt, dass 600000 Menschen unter schwerer Ernährungsunsicherheit leiden. Wie viele andere Entwicklungsländer ist Guinea mit großen Herausforderungen in der Urbanisierung konfrontiert. Zum natürlichen Wachstum der städtischen Bevölkerung kommt noch der Effekt der starken Landflucht hinzu. Dadurch steigt die städtische Armut um weitere 20%. Der Urbanisierungsgrad Guineas liegt bei ungefähr 37%. Weitere akute Herausforderungen sind die Jugendarbeitslosigkeit und eine unzureichende Versorgung mit grundlegenden öffentlichen Dienstleistungen einschließlich Bildung, Gesundheit, Sicherheit und menschenwürdige Wohnung.

Ebola-Einsatz in Guinea


Plaza Diamant (Luxus-Wohnanlage, gebaut von chinesischen Investoren)

Go to top
© Bildungsförderung Oberguinea e.V. 2017